8 ways to Truly follow Jesus Christ


People have told me I’m not a Christian.

I almost laugh because the name of the church I belong to is The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

I am confident that it is not my actions or beliefs that lead others to believe I’m not a Christian.  It’s what others have told them.

I believe in Jesus Christ by word and by action. He’s my Savior and my everything.

Here’s 8 ways in which I try to Truly follow Him.

1. Open your mouth

In His own words: Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature. -Mark 16:15

This is not a suggestion, a request or even an invitation.  It’s a commandment.

Being a Christian is not a walk in the park.

Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity. -Matthew 7:22-23

preach

2. Do what Jesus Christ would do

Would Jesus yell at a random customer service worker on the phone with whom he’s frustrated with? Would He get road rage when stuck in the middle of I-5?  Would Jesus cause harm verbally or physically? Would Jesus cause harm to his body by doing drugs or smoking?

3. Smile

Multiple times Jesus said “Be of good cheer.” Be happy, smile.  Do we? Or do we put our heads down and march on when a person passes by.  Does His light shine within us?

smiling

4. Don’t Hate

Love one another.  Sound familiar? When you hear someone who professes to be Christian say a hateful remark towards Blacks or Muslims or Jews I encourage you to remind him or her whose figurative title he or she carries when professing to be a Christian.

5. Forgive

Has someone offended you? Publicly humiliated you? Hurt you to the core? Or even killed a family member? Although seemingly impossible our Creator and Big Brother who so willingly died for us commanded that we forgive all.

forgiveness

6. Get to know Him

Read His words, learn about His interactions with His friends and those who were against Him.  Know what is pleasing to him and what offends him.  Live so that you can feel worthy of returning to His presence after you pass on from this life.

7. Don’t be afraid

We are commanded to fear not. Even in troubling times such as these.  One of my favorite hymns in my church contains this line.  Fear not I am with thee O be not dismayed.  For I am thy God and will still give thee aid.

8. Keep His commandments

commandments

Jesus told his Apostles and to us, If ye love me, keep my commandments. -John 14:15

I try to follow him by doing my best at getting to know Him and do as He would.

 How do you follow Him?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “8 ways to Truly follow Jesus Christ

  1. Pingback: 8ways2: Be a missionary without realizing it | 8ways2

Leave a Reply

