8 ways to Live longer


If you’re Mormon or you know one, you probably know the run down.  No alcohol.  No smoking.  No drugs.  No coffee.  No tea.  Some people ask why.  The why is plain and simple.  According to studies Latter-Day Saints live longer.

Active Mormons follow the Word of Wisdom, a law of health first recorded in 1833 by Joseph Smith. Mormons believe it is revelation from God for the benefit of the church and saints. Although Latter-Day Saints are among the healthiest of populations, there is always room for improvement.  Here are 8 ways to live even longer.

1.  Get moving (cardio)

Heart disease is the #1 leading cause of death in the United States. A way to prevent this tragedy is to get moving.  Whether you speed walk, jog, run, ride the elliptical, swim, bike, do Zumba, or participate any sports it doesn’t matter.  Get your heart rate up in order to promote a more efficient and healthy heart.

????????????????????????????????????????

2. Resistance training

Jason Barker of Colorado shared the benefits of a combination of cardio and resistance training,”I have been lifting more than I have been running. Lately I have been doing sprints as cardio.  Back when I lost all my weight I was drinking lots of water. Just being healthy has improved my mood and my happiness.” Lifting weights no matter the amount, boosts metabolism and helps prevent against osteoporosis, a weakening of the bone.

3. Zzz

Sleep is not only necessary to feel good the next day, but for the releasing of important growth hormones, restoring energy, and organizing information in the brain, to name a few. The amount of sleep needed varies upon the individual.  Some questions to ask yourself are, how do I feel in the morning, do I need caffeine or an energy drink to keep me awake, and do I find myself getting extremely tired during the day?

4. Keep track of everything you eat for 2 weeks

Although we may know what we should and shouldn’t eat do we follow that? Be accountable to yourself and see if you are getting enough fruits, vegetables, and protein in your diet.  If you track your diet for 2 weeks you can pull up a chart that tells you what vitamins and minerals you are low in and also your strengths.  I love using MyFitnessPal personally.  Try it, I promise it will help guide you in your journey towards better health.

food

5.  Oral hygiene

It’s 11pm, you’ve had a long day, you just want to jump into bed and be done for the day.  This was a thought of mine all too often.  You too?  I re-learned recently the key importance of flossing, brushing, and using mouth wash twice each day.  Doing so will save you money in the long run and prevent you from painful dental work or losing teeth. Nobody I’ve met enjoys going to the dentist but I ask you to please go often.  If not every 6 months, every year at the least.  You will feel more confident and comfortable with yourself.  Besides, I don’t want to go into where all the bacteria can travel as a scare tactic.  Yuck.

6. De-stress

Go golfing, go to the pool, read a book, go to the spa, go on vacation, get a massage, watch a comedy.  Whatever works to lower your stress, do it.  Life is too short to be worrying. Reward yourself after big accomplishments including passing tests, getting into a school, getting a new job or promotion, or getting through another month.

relax

7. Compliment yourself and others

I have noticed people who compliment often are happy and positive.  When you look in the mirror and see something you don’t like, rather, notice something about you that makes you special.  That is priceless. And this will improve your mental health faster than most medications.

8. Laugh

Laughing cures sorrow.  Whether you tell jokes, watch movies, or play charades with friends, it will release tension and lift the soul. No matter how difficult life gets, laughter is always beneficial.  You cannot frown while smiling. It will release natural, feel-good hormones in your body.

live long

And that’s a drug that fits right in with the Word of Wisdom.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “8 ways to Live longer

  1. I like numbers 7 and 8. I think we underestimate the value of those ones on our physical body. But I too believe they help us out in large amounts! 🙂 xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

