You aren’t “saved”


“I’m a nurse.”  Well actually that’s a lie.  I’m in the process of becoming a nurse.

nurse

“I’m saved.”  That’s also a lie.  I’m in the process of becoming saved.

I’ve heard people say to me “I’m saved” as if their judgment is already set in stone.  This devalues Jesus Christ who is the one who will stand to judge us. Accepting Jesus as your Savior is an early and necessary step in becoming saved, but it is not the final step. Just as me getting accepting into the Nursing program was not the final step into me being a registered nurse.

It really takes more than just proclaiming His name and accepting him to enter His Kingdom.

“Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.” –Matthew 7:21

I understand that when people say “I’m saved” it’s their way of saying Jesus Christ is their Lord and Savior. But committing to the Lord is much different than being saved. Similarly when a student commits to go to a university that doesn’t mean he or she has already graduated.

Another condition to be saved is a consistent, lifelong keeping of His commandments. Jesus said:

“And ye shall be hated of all men for my name’s sake: but he that endureth to the end shall be saved.” -Matthew 10:22

I recognize the suffering in the Garden and on the Cross.  I also appreciate the Eternal sacrifice of my Savior that made it possible for me to be cleansed and return to His presence.  I’m forever grateful for Him.  I know that because He rose from the tomb we will all rise from the grave, never to die again.  “For since by man came death, by man came also the resurrection of the dead.  For as in Adam all die, even so in Christ shall all be made alive.” -1 Corinthians 15:21-22

garden

Because He died we will all live again, but to return to God’s presence we must do our part, by keeping His commandments and enduring to the end.  It’s foolish to think that we are saved only by grace or only by works. His suffering for us is not a free ticket into heaven, but he bridged the gap that we weren’t able to do ourselves. His Grace is like a parent paying your college tuition– an amount you could have never afforded on your own.  Grace is the funds that allow you to be on the campus in the first place. Grace is the ability to learn and grow and have all the tools necessary to succeed. Works is all the late nights of studying, the early morning classes you drag yourself to, and the effort in getting to the end result. Only with GRACE and WORKS can you end up in your cap and gown.

bridge

“And now, my beloved brethren, after ye have gotten into this strait and narrow path, I would ask if all is done? Behold, I say unto you, Nay; for ye have not come thus far save it were by the word of Christ with unshaken faith in him, relying wholly upon the merits of him who is mighty to save.

Wherefore, ye must press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope, and a love of God and of all men. Wherefore, if ye shall press forward, feasting upon the word of Christ, and endure to the end, behold, thus saith the Father: Ye shall have eternal life.”

He already did His part.  Now we have to do ours.

24 thoughts on “You aren’t “saved”

  1. You, Matt Lemon, are one cool dude! Not in the process of being cool…you are THERE!!

    I really enjoy reading ALL of your posts, even if I don’t always take the time to say so. Keep em coming! And keep on doing the good work with nursing school and the road to salvation 🙂

    Like

    • I thank u are full of bull! what about when it say ye are saved by grace not by work that anyone can boast. it ‘s what He did not what I have done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Like

      • I appreciate your passionate stance on the topic Dale. However, you must look at multiple scriptures to get the main idea. Faith without works is dead. That’s the idea of my post. Latter-Day Saints believe in the great sacrifice of Jesus Christ and without Him we would be lost. Also, we cannot be saved if we just say I accept Him and DO NOT follow Him.

        Like

  2. I love your posts! I would love to see a way to print them up rather than cutting and pasting into a word processing document. My daughter is serving a mission in Dallas, Texas, and I think she will really appreciate your insights in this one! Thanks so much, Francie Wyss

    Date: Wed, 3 Sep 2014 15:59:24 +0000 To: fmwyss@hotmail.com

    Like

  3. I can honest say I’ve had some disagreements with you in the past, but NOT THIS TIME!!! I’m a Preabyterian married to a Mormon. I’m a Christensen married to a Bennett, I’m a woman married to a man, I’m a Ms. married to a Mr. We both agreed that we were comfortable with our identities, but committed to each other. There was no changing of names or religion upon our marriage, and when my Presbyterian minister didn’t want to participate in the “Presby-Mormon” wedding we felt worked for us, we gotarried at the court house, and did our ceremony our way. It was awesome!!!

    But I digress. One thing my very liberal Presbyterian church and the Mormons, as I learn from this blog, have in common is that getting to Heaven is a journey!!!! I’ve never understood how people can have a religious experience and know they’re saved. I can understand them finding Jesus, but as mere humans, how do we know we’re saved? Let’s leave that up to God!!!! This was a bit of a sticking point with my former minister, and a couple if individual LDS missionaries, but hubby and I told them that we believe that keeping our faiths (yes plural with an s) and focussing on what we had in common would help both religions. When I overhear someone say something fake, and to the point if downright ignorance about Mormons, I SPEAK UP!!!! When someone pushes me too hard about not being a Mormon, my husband defends me.

    I really loved reading this because it makes the point I tried to make before I even knew the Mormons existed! We are all on the journey; whether or not we’re saved is up to GOD to decide!!

    Like

  4. Excellent post. Just talking to missionaries about this same topic yesterday. Came to the same conclusion except you were more articulate and said it eloquently. Thank you.

    Like

  5. Why do people brag about being saved? I accept it in all humility like I am humbled before Jesus Christ who is my only Savior. I hope He does this daily because I am always prone to sin even though I try to live everyday as He wants me to.

    Like

    • Just like Mormons say that they know their Church is true, Christians Know they are saved…”Absense from the body, present with the Lord”. Those who are saved are born again, God dwells in them…Jesus says that no one will snatch them out of my hands. However, I do not believe that you should go about and sin. One needs to abide with Him..

      Like

      • “Absense from the body, present with the Lord” Isn’t taught in the Bible.

        2 Corinthians 5:8
        Because of this we trust and we long to depart from the body and to be with Our Lord. Aramaic Bible in Plain English. The soul or spirit of a person remains in the body until the second coming.

        John 14:3 Jesus said
        “And if I go prepare a place for you, I shall come again and bring you to join me, that where I am you shall be also.” Aramaic Bible in Plain English They will join him when he returns. They didn’t go to Heaven after Jesus was resurrected. So this would have to mean the second coming. And it doesn’t mean our early bodies will come out of the ground and go to Heaven.

        Many people try to make the Bible say what they want to believe.
        And I don’t believe in near death experiences where people say they saw there body and went to Heaven. I don’t know how to explain event like in the book and movie Heaven is real.

        Like

  6. This is a great allegory to explain the connection between Grace and works. I find that there are many times when only one of these great principles of the Gospel are talked about without putting them together. Thank you!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Are you “Saved”? | Christian Authenticity

  8. What about Ephesians 2: 8-9? For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.

    Like

  9. I really enjoyed this article! Thanks for taking the time to write it! I wish I would have had it a couple months ago when I had an opportunity to teach this.

    After reading it I was reminded of a story from my mission president, who served as a stake president before his mission. One stake conference the visiting authority was LeGrand Richards, at dinner the asked Elder Richards what his hope was. At the age of 96 LeGrand Richards said his hope was that he could endure to the end!

    Like

  10. I disagree. I am saved. I am not exalted, but I am saved. Christ has saved me from death and hell. The only thing that isn’t secure is my exaltation. My salvation — being resurrected and dwelling one of the kingdoms of glory — has been purchased and secured for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

