The idea of God isn’t true


For most of us, something deep down inside tells us there is a greater power. We sense there is something bigger than us. All that you have to do is look up at all the miraculous clusters of stars and galaxies.  Look into the eyes of a baby.  Look down into a microscope and watch as cells individually multiply and heal. So no, this isn’t about Atheism.

mother-daughter-hawaii-849694-gallery

What or who is God? Philosophers and common men and women have pondered that thought since the beginning of time.  Native Americans have called God the great spirit.  Hindus believe in the plurality of gods in different shapes and forms.  Ancient Egyptians believed God was the sun that was born in the day and died at night.  All of these ideas are fascinating, but false.  Even the idea of God isn’t true.  Let me explain.

Many people view God as a power, a mist, a force, an idea.  They make God out to be a mysterious, intangible presence.  But something even more beautiful than that rings true.

“So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.”  -Genesis 1:27

GOD

When you look in the mirror you see the image of God. He has eyes, a nose, a mouth and two ears just like you.  He has a face, and surely a body.  He is truly our Father who listens to us and He speaks to us.

Stephen’s testimony even deserves repeating:

“And said, Behold, I see the heavens opened, and the Son of man standing on the right hand of God.” Acts 7:56

I had an amazing opportunity serving the people of South Africa and Swaziland while I was a missionary there.  In both of those countries ancestor worship is common.  People found solace praying to loved ones that have passed.  Although the idea of wanting to connect with our forefathers is honorable, worshiping them is another story.  This brought about a challenge that pushed me.  It helped me understand who God is and who He isn’t.  I realized he is my Father working to bring his children back to Him through repentance and baptism.

31351_10150183607015315_840907_n

Many of us get caught up in the belief that “God” is a moral compass.  That he’s a conglomeration  of virtues that one should follow. God isn’t the 10 commandments.  He commanded them.

As I think about how valuable I am it brings a smile to my face.  To be created in His image.  To be able to communicate with Him.  I am an offspring of Deity. And so are you.

“Forasmuch then as we are the offspring of God, we ought not to think that the Godhead is like unto gold, or silver, or stone, graven by art and man’s device.” -Acts 17:29

He’s our perfected Father. You are His child. A child that matters more than all the stars in the sky. A child he listens to and waits to hear from.

And that is much more to hold on to than any idea I can think of.

 

4 thoughts on “The idea of God isn’t true

  1. Pingback: The idea of God isn’t true | Morsels Of Bread

  2. Oh my gosh. I read this story right after I read your story about your wife being a convert. This is absolutely incredible! I’m a convert, and much like your wife I lost so many friends and even some family members. I lost family because they are a completely different faith, and what you said here in this story is what I’ve been trying to say all along. Also, they’ve checked out of my life since I booked a temple wedding for February 2015 and they just do not agree with it. But I plan to share what you’ve written with my family in hopes that now they will see what I’ve been trying to say all along. Thank you for this. Truly, sincerely, thank you. You and your wife are inspirational!

    Like

Leave a Reply

