What Henry Eyring said to me that I’ll never forget


I felt like the lowest of the low when it came to employment. I was a custodian scrubbing toilets, wiping down sinks, cleaning mirrors, sweeping, and vacuuming.

Spencer Lowe cleans a bathroom in the Jesse Knight Building Wednesday morning.

I still remember thinking to myself what a despicable job. A job only a poor college kid like me would take. But one day while wiping the fingerprint smudges off the windows at the entrance of the Manwaring Center at Brigham Young University-Idaho a familiar face walked by.

byui3

Henry J. Eyring, son of 1st counsellor Henry B. Eyring, was my stake president who I had seen walking around campus but had never talked to. What he said changed my attitude and really took me by surprise.

eyring

While I was wiping windows Eyring made eye contact with me, smiled, and said “thank you for doing this work.” And it wasn’t even a one time experience. For the months I worked that position I crossed paths with him a few times and he continued to thank me for my work.  That appreciation, especially from someone who I thought didn’t even notice people like me really made me rethink how I saw myself and how I see my leaders as untouchable and more than human, almost.

I learned that no matter what type of work you do, no matter what type of pay you receive and no matter how little you may feel because of your current situation just know that people high up and common people love you, pray for you, and appreciate your hard work and sacrifice. No matter what you do, do it with all your heart.

walmart

I try to act the same when I see people working minimum wage jobs or places where they may not feel the most fulfilled such as fast food, grocery stores, and public servants such as postal workers, teachers, and police officers.

What he said that day in Idaho really changed my outlook and I pray we remember we are all sons and daughters of the God of the universe.

4 thoughts on “What Henry Eyring said to me that I’ll never forget

  1. I need to say after reading this blog that myself had this same kind of job for 20 something years, but it was called something different, it was called being a stay home mom/wife.. cleaning is no job that anyone should feel small by, it is very hard work! And even though I have cleaned homes for other people, i have seen the application they have for the fact they could not do it.. also even though a job may not be high pay, any job they have is a commendable job:) not all are fortunate to go to college so we need to pride ourself anyway we can to feel we are just as important as the one who did get a degree! !

    Like

  2. No job is a small job 🙂 if we are doing our best and loving it.

    That’s so nice of brother Henry to do that and it is indeed a good lesson to take from him.

    Thanks for sharing this I will double my effort to make the people around me feel that they are appreciated.

    Like

  3. No job is a small job 🙂 as long as you are doing your best and loving it,

    That is so nice of brother Hemry to do that.

    Thanks for sharing this, I will double my effort in making sure that the people around me feel that they are appreciated.

    Like

  4. I was a janitor at a church of another denomination for several years. My kids were kind of embarrassed. My husband at the time was willing to take the money but ashamed to admit what my job was. Personally I didn’t care. It was a chance to work in a house of God and to do my best work. I felt it a privilege for several reasons. 1 it’s necessary. 2 it’s an unnoticed but very responsible part of health care. 3 I was a doorkeeper in the house of the Lord (Ps 84:10)

    Like

Leave a Reply

